Goodbye UOSM2008, Hello Blogging!

When I first started this module I actually thought I’ll have ages to blog about issues around the digital age and use of technology, but I guess this was just an insight into how I can use my spare time blogging about things I’m interesting in, rather than binge watching Netflix and Keeping up with Kardashians.

I came across this module and thought that learning about how we interact online, how this is changing and the issues and challenges surrounded by using technologies in everyday life was very intriguing. – Shaheer (January, 2016)

One of the main reasons for choosing to study this module has been highlighted above. I feel that I definitely learnt about these topics when progressing through the module. I’ve found this module to be innovative and very non-traditional. Comparing this style of learning to lectures, I feel I have gained more out of the UOSM2008 module than any other modules I have taken.

What I learnt from each topic?

In the above PowToon I have showcased the key aspects I have learnt from each topic, although there was so much more I learnt that I had not included in this video.

Reflecting back on my digital profile…

Self Test.jpg

Before I started the module I completed a self test to see “how digital I am”. I thought this was a great way to reflect on how I have changed throughout the module. Looking back at it I think I might have definitely over rated myself for some aspects, like creating online materials. Although I thought I made loads, I feel like now online materials should be useful material and not things you can pass by with.  I also think I have improved on managing my online identity. Whenever I’m on social media I always think before posting something.

However one of the aspects of this module I feel I have mostly improved on is participating in online communities. I feel that this innovative module have shown me that engaging with other like minded people online can be very useful and allow you to learn and develop. Commenting on other people’s blogs has been really interesting! Seeing how people view issues differently and having similar and not so similar stances, definitely opened me up to blogging. I really hope to pursue blogging, even if it just for personal use.

Have I achieved what I set out to gain from this module?

  • Improve my online presence  YES!
  • Understanding of the importance of online networks and how they can contribute to daily life YES!
  • Improve knowledge that the web is more than just a network to get information YES!

I decided to choose this module because I’m pretty much intrigued understanding how technology and information can be used to solve global issues. Looking back at this module I definitely achieved my targets above and also found out so much more about issues in digital age, like open access, digital divide and online profiles.

What now?

This module has definitely given me an insight into a new learning style. I hope to continue blogging for leisure and see where that takes me. Very excited to be taking more UOSM modules next year.

– Shaheer

Leave a comment