How UOSM2008 am I?

it-solution1
http://po-web.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/it-solution1.jpg

Part of the #UOSM2008 is to complete a Digital Profile Self Test before and after the completion of the module. It’s a great idea to evaluate and see what I gain out of this module and whether I come out as a different person on the other side. So here goes nothing…

Accessing, managing and evaluating online information – 3/5

Whenever I read something online, I don’t necessarily believe what has been stated is true or genuine. I tend to stay away from the Daily Mail, but do enjoy a daily dose of gossip on Facebook.

Participating in online communities – 3/5

I feel social media, like Facebook, Instagram and others are all online communities where people interact with each other, therefore I do participate in online communities. I have also participated with other students e.g. through Student Room.

Building online networks around an area of interest – 3/5

Groups on social could be classed as an online network. I am part of several of them, especially ones associated to the University e.g. Fresher’s, Cheerleading, Societies etc.

Collaborating with others on shared projects – 4/5

I have used several applications online to collaborate on projects, such as Prezi, Google and running a page on Facebook.

Creating online materials (text, audio, images, video) – 4/5

I feel creating online materials is one of the major uses of the web. I always try somehow to integrate technology into my daily activities

Managing your online identity – 4/5

Since opening my first Myspace and Piczo around in 2005 my online identity has been increasing gradually. I regularly update my Facebook and Instagram and have been active on LinkedIn for more than a year. However I have never been much of a fan of blogging or tweeting.

Managing your online privacy and security – 5/5

I take my privacy and security very serious and regular review my settings, especially as some social media sites put in cheeky settings after an update. I want to be able for people to google me and find positive things, rather negative.

Why did you choose the module?

This semester I thought it would be a great idea to study a module other than ones that are similar to my degree. I came across this module and thought that learning about how we interact online, how this is changing and the issues and challenges surrounded by using technologies in everyday life was very intriguing. I have always had a passion for the use of technology to solve issues and make life easier, I do feel that after university my career will be technology, therefore enhancing my knowledge and experience in how we use the web, would be inevitably a fab experience.

What in particular do you want to learn from the module?

  • Improve my online presence
  • Understanding of the importance of online networks and how they can contribute to daily life
  • Improve knowledge that the web is more than just a network to get information

Have you studied online before?

I have completed a course that was set all online but not a module. However, I guess I study online all the time when doing research and reading articles etc.

Leave a comment